Aval Payasam (Rice Flakes Kheer )

aval-payasam-rice-flakes-kheer.84036.jpg

This is a Vishu special recipe, I know it’s a very delayed updated but trust me I cooked it up on 14th April but some issues with the home PC and my personal laptop coupled with my laziness to type and edit the pics delayed the update.

I have told even before that I am crazy about Payasam all kind of Payasam one with sugar, jaggery, kalkand, it doesn’t matter what you add in it I will eat as long as it is named paysam, but what I did told before was as a kid I kind of loathed jaggery payasam. I remember my mom begging to me to at least take one bite of ada Payasam whenever we go to grandparents place.

My grandpa was an executive engineer and after retirement he set up some business one of them is an auditorium. Whenever there is an Hindu wedding at the auditorium, we will get a part of Payasam at home too and they always tasted heavenly, there will be all kind of Payasams Semiya payasam,ada pradhaman, kadala payasam, payattu payasam..the list will keep on going like this.

Growing up among all those I don’t remember when my love for Payasam ignited , all I know is I love cooking them and eating them. Mom says I got that from my grandma, she was an awesome cook and she share my love for Payasam as well… so might be this is hereditary 😉

Aval / Rice Flakes Payasam

  • Servings: 5
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print


Ingredients

  • 1 cup Aval (Rice Flakes )
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1 cup jaggery syrup
  • Nuts & Raisins
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons ghee
  • 1/4 cup Sago


Directions

  1. Prepare the jaggery solution by boiling 1 cup of water and jaggery together till the liquid thickens a little, strain it to remove the impurities and keep it aside.
  2. Soak the sago for a few minutes and then cook it with around 1 cup of water till the sago become transparent.
  3. Heat ghee in a pan and fry the nuts and raisins, once the nuts are light brown and raisins are swollen remove them from the pan and keep it aside.
  4. Sautè the rice flakes in ghee till they shrinks a little, now pour 3 cups of water(adjust the water quantity according to your type of aval and consistency you prefer) to it and cook till the water is absorbed and aval softens. (Rice flaks will harden when to you saute but don’t worry it will get soften when you cook it with water)
  5. Now add the strained jaggery solution to it and stir it till the content thickens, then add the cooked sago to it.
  6. Now add the milk, heat the whole content for a minute or till the milk blends in properly, dont allow the kheer to boils once after adding milk cause it may curdle.
  7. Top it up with fried cashews and raisins and serve. You can even add fried coconut pieces to it, but am not a fan of coconut so I avoided it.

Leave a Reply

