Nutty Vanilla Cake

img1440582691812


I love cakes I just can’t stop myself from reaching out to them and devouring them, but that butter always worries me. So ever since I started baking on my own I tend to look for recipes that use oil, so most of the tie I use sunflower oil or coconut oil as these two are the once always available at home. But my cakes were not much fluffy as I like it to be, recently I was going through some blogs and I saw some one mentioning that olive oils makes cakes fluffier even though I hesitated a bit I decided to try it and the results were amazing my cakes were so fluffy and soft it practically melt in the mouth. Ever since that Sunday on every Sundays I am baking these cake as the tea time snack. I made these for my friends, teammates and even for my sister’s friends every time the plates is emptied in a jiff.

Nutty Vanilla Cake

  • Servings: 5-serving
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print


Ingredients

  • 200 gms All purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons Baking powder
  • 4 Eggs
  • 200 grams Granulated Sugar
  • 100 millilitres Milk
  • 75 grams Olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla essence
  • handful Cashew nuts

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees for 10 minutes.
  2. Mix all purpose flour and baking powder together.
  3. Beat the eggs using a fork.
  4. Powder the sugar and add it to the beaten eggs. Beat till the mix thicken.
  5. Add to the eggs and sugar, flour-baking powder mix, followed by milk, oil and vanilla essence. Mix it all in, don’t beat much afterwards. Batter will be little too loose but don’t worry the cake will turn out fine 🙂
  6. Roast/heat the cashew nuts in a pan with out oil, and let it cool down a bit. Now crush the nuts, either using a mortar or in a grinder, I prefer the mortar because the cashew nut might get powdered in the mixie.
  7. Grease the pan with olive oil and dust it with a little flour or layer the pan with butter paper on the bottom and sides, pour the half the batter into the pan. Then make a layer with half or three forth or whole of the crushed nut on it, then layer the remaining batter spread the remaining crushed nuts(if any left)on to the top.
  8. Bake the cake for a total of 30 minutes with 20-22 minutes with heat from bottom and 8-10 minutes from the top part. While giving heat from top check constantly to avoid burning of the upper part of the cake.

Leave a Reply

