Mutta Appam

mutta-appam-recipe.1024x1024

This is one another dish I grew up with,something that use to wait for me to devour it  in my mom’s kitchen on school day evening.

Like Banana Tawa Roti and Kesari, this snack is an integral part of my childhood memories.

When I decided to start this blog I was a newbie in cooking world,  this blog is suppose to be my inspiration to cook.  But the big question is what do I cook???  🤔🤔

And like every youth out there I decided to nag my mom, “what should I post Amma??”, “Do you have any idea for anything to post?? “,” Please tell me what to post? “.. Like that it went on and on and on…

And one day I was nagging her while she is making afternoon snack for me and sissy,  and she was like” why don’t you post the  recipe for mutta appam??”

I was a bit hesitant at first because this is not a famous recipe or dish or anything, as far as I know this is something my grandma fixed up for my mom and brother as their after school snack, which got carried over to my mom, then again she goes like,”well if nobody knows it then you have to tell them right?”, well that got me thinking and then mutta appam became my third post to my blog.

Then the main villain arrived,amma doesn’t have any exact quantity measure,

“How many eggs amma?”
“Well I usually go with just 1, its just for you and molutty right.”
“Ok!! what about rice flour, coconut and milk???”
“Add as you like, I adjust it till the consistency is right!,its just the taste that matters.”, I had my eye balls out by then…
“But I cant right so in the blog amma…” and after a lot of thinking and calculations and my experiments I came up with the recipe down below…
The recipe is so simple with readily available ingredients, which is the main highlight, every home will have eggs,sugar,rice flour ,coconut and milk.

I like to dump everything together except milk, the eggs, sugar, rice flour,grated coconut,salt, and mix well. The mix will be so thick and will look like a dough but don’t worry just start adding your milk little by little to it, till the it reaches a batter consistency.

Now you can cook them in a tawa greased with ghee, ghee brings out the desi taste to mutt appam, u can use oil for greasing if you want but I have to tell you the ghee always give an extra aroma and taste to the dish.

Mutta Appam

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print


Ingredients

  • 2 number Egg
  • 6 tablespoons Rice flour
  • 6 tablespoon sugar/cane sugar
  • 4 tablespoons grated coconut
  • 1/4 salt teaspoon
  • to taste Ghee
  • 1 cup Milk


Directions

  1. Beat the egg in a bowl.
  2. Add the rice flour,sugar, grated coconut and salt to it.
  3. Add milk to loosen the batter to a consistency similar to appam’s batter.
  4. Put the thava on the stove,when the thava heats up apply some ghee on it and pour the batter and spread it out evenly like you do for Pancakes /appam/uthapam, close the lid and cook for sometime in low-medium flame then turn it and cook the other side.
  5. Mutta appam is ready 🙂



Notes:

  1. With the quantity mentioned in the recipe we can make around 6 appam,it varies with the size of each appam.
  2. Add sugar according to your like, I tend to add more sugar 😉

Leave a Reply

